16th : Nokia N97 Mini.


Nokia finally spilled the goods! They have announced the release date for its highly anticipated N97 Mini. 23 October!!. However, this is for those in the UK. No word on local availability yet. Booo…. Nevertheless, it still gives me an idea rough idea when it will reach Malaysian shores. Here a look at this sexy little device.

Cool video. Liked the way the Mini appears from behind its elder brother. Haha. Like the music too.
I am so getting Facebook when I get my hand on one of these.

Why am I so excited about this? That’s because I plan on buying one! Initially, I planned to get the Samsung INNOV8. Samsung’s last generation flagship. Same generation as the Nokia N96. Why I choose ‘Last Generation’? Because ‘Last-Generation’ will generally spell cheaper prices. Being a flagship device, it outdates less quickly. So, i get a good phone for less. Smart leh… Haha…

However, Samsung’s INNOV8 was such a good phone, it stood the test of time. Although its now ‘Last-Generation’, it still costs a bomb. Much more than I expected. When new, the 16GB model costs RM2700. Now, based on quotes from a friend, approximately RM2200. Just RM500 dropped in a year? No small feat. I expected it to be around RM 1500. Haiz.

Saw that? It even has a mouse!

I am a Samsung fan. I once said hat my next phone will be a Samsung. Plus, I liked the INNOV8 a lot. Possibly the best phone one could get. So, even the high price wasn’t enough to deter me from aiming for the INNOV8.

Until one day. I saw the price for Nokia’s N97. RM2480 was its recommended retail price. RM2480 for a full-fledged smartphone? It was a bargain. To put things into perspective, The HTC Touch Pro2, HTC’s equivalent to the N97, costs RM3200. Nokia’s deal was so sweet.

Amazingly, even that wasn’t enough to sway my attention away from the INNOV8. Until Nokia unleashed its N97 Mini. As the name suggests, its a N97, minimised. Nokia took all the goodness of the N97 and squeezed it into a smaller package! Cool! Nokia didn’t only shrink the phone, they even shrunk the Pirce Tag! Romours has it that it will cost around the region of RM1500. Mega Ultra Sweet.

It hurts me to switch to Nokia, but this deal is irresistible. So, N97 mini, here I come… Haha…

Want to know more about N97 mini? Look here :

http://www.nokia.com.my/find-products/all-phones/nokia-n97-mini

http://noknok.tv/2009/09/07/stat-clash-nokia-n97-v-nokia-n97-mini/

Update : Last week when I was at Sunway Pyramid, I made a visit to the Nokia store there. There was a N97 mini on display. I asked about the local release date. That guy said 31 October. Woo… Cant wait… RRP : RM2350

Leave a comment